Just Do It

13 May

Cupcake Kitchen Timer

[ source: collectionsetc.com ]

 
Time moves so fast. You don’t realize it when you are actually in the day to day moments, it’s not until you sit and think about the passage of time that you see how quickly it goes. This time last year I was getting ready to leave for Europe, still on the fence about whether or not to go to culinary school. Needless to say, Europe was amazing, and essential to my decision to pursue what I enjoy the most. Seeing all these picturesque sights, hiking mountains, eating exotic foods for the first time, meeting incredible people, and literally getting lost in a strange but beautiful new place can have that kind of effect on you. A positive one, wherein you realize that the world is so much bigger than your little bubble, and you have to take life like a bull by the horns in order to really appreciate anything. For me, I knew once I came back from Europe that if I didn’t go the culinary school route, I might hate myself later. I’d never be satisfied with my life if I didn’t at least try to pursue it. And now here I am a whole year later, with this blog in tow and only a month or so left until I finish up school. It’s nuts! My road does not end there though, I then start my externship – which I have yet to decide upon. But the adventure will continue!

When I think about my class, it interests me how different we all are as people, though we are united in our love of baking. Some work super quickly, able to frost and decorate an entire cake in 10 minutes or less, as if the piping bag were an extension of their arm. Some are so bright and catch on quickly, they are able to accurately calculate measurement inversions and make bread baking seem like child’s play. Some are so creative, coming up with the craziest but most delicious flavor combinations and wonderful dessert presentations. A few of us work clean, others don’t – they work amidst such a cluttered work space and are still able to bang out the goods. Some of us are driven by the desire to succeed and will keep trying no matter how many times we burn our pate a choux or curdle our pastry cream. I feel bad for those that are so hard on themselves, sometimes myself included, who at the first sign of something going wrong give up altogether. Some of us are so nice and helpful, they can always be counted on for an extra set of hands once they’re done with their project or to lend you their spatula when you forget yours. Some are loud, funny, obnoxious. Some are natural leaders and take to being chef of the week easier than say me, who would rather go around helping clean up at the end of the night than standing around barking orders. Some really understand the concept of there’s no “i” in team while others, I guess, missed that Sesame Street episode and curiously disappear every night when it comes time to clean the floors. But the thing is to learn to work with everyone, because you’ll encounter similar personality types out in the food business. You don’t see how different we all are or get to know people like when working in a tight kitchen.

What I mean to say by all this is that my class is crazy, much like people in general. But also, time is like sand in the hourglass. You can either watch it slip away or fly along with it by pursuing your goals. It’s not easy and even a bit risky, but then again it wouldn’t be worth it if it wasn’t. So whatever it is you want to do, just do it.

Tonight we are testing out our individual cupcake recipes for this competition we have coming up June. Tomorrow we get judged by the school and whoever’s cupcakes win gets to represent the school in the competition! Wish me luck :).

 
Love & Sweets,
Melissa

5 Responses to “Just Do It”

  1. apuginthekitchen May 13, 2013 at 1:17 pm #

    Best of luck in the cupcake judging. Hope you get to represent the school!

    • Melissa (Just Enough Sugar) May 15, 2013 at 10:27 am #

      Unfortunately I did not. And I really thought I had it! But I did come up with some creative cupcake ideas – hopefully I get to use them in the future for other competitions.

  2. Daniel Budiarto May 13, 2013 at 2:18 pm #

    Good luck! :)

    Where in Europe? I live in Belgium and the p√Ętisserie here is amazing!

    • Melissa (Just Enough Sugar) May 15, 2013 at 10:31 am #

      I went to Switzerland, France, and Italy – amazing food! It would be a dream if I could somehow study or extern somewhere in Europe, I’d love nothing more. Belgium is definitely next on my list of places to visit!

  3. Choc Chip Uru May 14, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

    Good luck my friend, this is so exciting :D

    Cheers
    CCU

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

