Another Year Older

24 Mar

No pictures for you today – sorry guys, but between school, work, my side jobs, and that annoyingly necessary thing called sleep, it gets hard to find time to properly update! But I always feel bad when I can’t keep a steady schedule of blogging and am so amazed at some of you bloggers out there who are able to post almost every single day. How do you do it? I try to at least once a week and sometimes I can’t even do that! I’ll be honest, at least, that this weekend was spent mostly celebrating my day of birth (which is today :) ) recklessly and vehemently, as a young-but-feelin’-old, closer-to-30-now, 26 year-old should. So, cheers to me!

In baking news, we are finally done with the bread module at school, HALLELUJAH! I am so happy that I no longer have to dissolve yeast and wait for dough to rise. And my now protruding gluten belly is even happier. Bread is definitely the harder of things to master in baking, because of the precision of it all and temperatures and waiting. Lots of waiting. But I’m glad I have a good handle on it. We took our practical this past week and had to make challah bread, italian bread, cinnamon raisin bread, and blueberry muffins and I HIT IT OUT OF THE PARK. Aces all around, although I did wind up having to make my challah bread twice because it didn’t proof the first time for some reason. Our merciful instructor, Chef Gina, thankfully pushed the written final exam up a week so we have more time to study and prepare because it is a lot of information. Tomorrow evening we start cakes and I’m excited to get my decorating skills spruced up!

In even more possibly exciting news (if all works out well), I am researching and trying to obtain an externship abroad! Thinking more France or Switzerland since I have family I could stay with – has anyone ever done this? I’ve traveled to both places but never studied or anything like that, so I’m not sure how to go about it and would love to know if any one of you have. It’s a somewhat daunting task – trying to find a bakery, contacting them to see if they’d even take you, all the back and forth and in French? Definitely have my work cut out for me, luckily I studied French in school although I’m not 100% fluent. Time to dust off the ol’ Rosetta Stone I’ve had sitting in my closet for a year.

Well, I’m going to enjoy the remainder of my birthday by having dinner with the family in a few hours, no better way to spend it. One last thing, I want to plug the fact that I started a Facebook for my blog so if you would be so kind :) as to like it. You can find it here: Just Enough Sugar on Facebook. I’m also on Instagram @justenoughsugar and Twitter @melissabakes. Alright that’s all, I’ll have a new Bake it Yourself up within the week – have a great Sunday everyone!

 
Love & Sweets,
Melissa

10 Responses to “Another Year Older”

  1. Suzanne March 24, 2013 at 6:56 pm #

    Happy Birthday and congratulations on getting through bread!! Sounds like exciting times ahead.

  2. jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com March 25, 2013 at 12:11 am #

    Beautiful post.Happy birthday many many more,wishing you happiness and success.Be well.Jalal

  3. Debaroon March 25, 2013 at 1:27 am #

    Happy Birthday..May most of your wishes come true…God Bless..keep writing beautifully as you do…

  4. Choc Chip Uru March 30, 2013 at 12:45 am #

    Happy birthday my friend :D

    Cheers
    CCU

  5. Sofia Siberia April 22, 2013 at 7:48 am #

    Happy Birthday, Melissa! :) Gosh i can only picture what a birthday cake you made! Yum ;)
    As for trying to blog regularly… I am also honestly amazed at how people here are able to post every single day, or craft a new post within a schedule! ))
    To me it’s all about the right inspiration and some free time luxury :)
    You are always sweet and positive, i wish you best year and good luck in all your endeavors!

    • Melissa (Just Enough Sugar) April 22, 2013 at 10:56 am #

      Thanks for the birthday wishes and kind words Sofia! I could always use a little more inspiration in my life to blog regularly, I just wish I had more time to do so. Lovely comments like yours always helps too :)

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

